Review: Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Stick Foundation

mufestickHere is the second in my series of high end base products that I’ve recently put through its paces. The Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Stick Foundation has been hotly reviewed by many of my favourite American YouTube stars such as Jacyln Hill and Nikki Tutorials amongst many others and after seeing them rave on about this foundation I knew I had to give it a go.

This foundation is priced at £29 and is available in the UK exclusively through Debenhams who happened to be running a 10% off beauty coupon – even better! I ordered this foundation in the shade Y325 which on application is probably a half shade too dark for me however works well when I have a false tan. I normally wear a MAC NC25 therefore I probably would order the Y245 if I was to purchase this again.

Make Up For Ever promise this to be undetectable to the naked eye which I don’t really agree with, you can most definitely tell that I’m wearing foundation when I’ve got this on however it does also promise a flawless complexion which I would have to say I do agree with. This foundation is incredible at smoothing the skin and is therefore a great one for me who does suffer with an uneven skin tone. The great thing about it is that it can be sheered out after a decent application of a rich moisturiser and a fluffy brush or it can give you full on Barbie perfect plastic looking skin with a larger amount of product and a beauty sponge.

makeupforeverhdstickPersonally I prefer somewhere in the middle however I did have to use a fair amount of pale concealer (Collection Lasting Perfection – 01 Fair) to get this looking light enough for me to wear without fake tanning as pictured. To apply I used a buffing brush in circular motions which seemed to make everything appear nice and even. The only thing I would say is that this is definitely not one for ladies and gents with oily skin, it’s super hydrating and even makes my dehydrated skin look a little shiny after a few hours wear time.

The only real negative I see with this foundation is the amount of product which I find to be pretty disappointing for the price tag. I would highly recommend it for those with dry/dehydrated skin looking for a medium/full coverage foundation and I’m definitely thinking of picking one up in a deeper ash tone to use as a cream contour!

Leave a Reply

