FOTD: Slightly Summery

summerJust lately I’ve been doing some makeup experimentation (wild – I know!) and have really been enjoying using slightly cooler tones on my eyes. I’ve always stuck to browns/bronzes and don’t get me wrong these will always remain my ‘safety zone’ when it comes to eyeshadow however they say a change is as good as rest! I popped this look on for a day out shopping with my mum and I like the contrast between the bronzed skin, cool eyes and coral lips!

Base

Amazingly I’ve got something of some colour to my face lately so I used two pumps of my L’Oreal True Match Foundation in W3 for a healthy medium coverage and worked this really well into my skin using a Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. Next I applied a little of the Clarins Instant Light Concealer in 01 under my eyes and down my nose. This gives a really nice medium coverage and keeps things fairly dewy and healthy looking. I’d totally recommend this one for more mature skin tones also as it doesn’t settle into fine lines and doesn’t look heavy either!

Eyes

On the eyes I used the Gosh Metallic Eyeshadow Stick in Light Copper all over the lid and simply drew it on and then used a nice fluffy brush to buff out the edges which I believe was the Real Techniques Base Shadow Brush. This isn’t actually copper at all, it seems to show as more of a silvery neutral tone to be totally honest! I then went on to apply the Gosh Forever Eyeshadow Matt in 10 Brown along my lower lash line however again this isn’t exactly descriptive of the colour, it’s more of a grey/taupe shade. Finally for the eyes I applied a good two coats of my Maybelline Colossal Mascara in Black and a little of the Rimmel Brow This Way brow gel in Clear.

summerzoomCheeks

I then used the Body Shop Honey Bronzer in 01 all over the face! I went a bit to town on the bronzing of this look as this is a very subtle colour and doesn’t pull too orangey on my skin so it works well to give a ‘sun kissed’ glow on even the fairest of us! I then used the MAC blusher in Melba to give me a pretty peachy flush which seemed to work really well with the bronzed skin.

Lips

Lastly on the lips I applied the Gosh Forever Lip Shine in Flirty Dreams all over the lips for a pretty coral flush. I must pick up another one of these as it truly is my favourite coral shade as it brightens without looking too over the top for day to day wear, is really comfortable and also seems to have fairly good staying power.

Leave a Reply

