My Every Day Makeup

 

everydayOf late I’ve tried to be fairly time-savvy in the morning with my makeup routine. Habitually I wash and dry my hair every morning before work (and at the weekend too!) so time really is of the essence as those valuable extra minutes in bed really do make all the difference. This look is so easy I can do it at 6am whilst the cat is running round my ankles and it virtually involves no application skill at all…

Base

For my base I want something long lasting yet natural so of late I’ve been mixing the L’Oreal True Match Foundation with the L’Oreal 24hr Infallible Matte Foundation together with a nice fluffy buffing brush. I general apply two small blobs onto the brush and swirl and buff all over my face and down my neck. Next I grab my trusty Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in 01 Fair for under my eyes and down my nose, I normally use a setting brush to blend this out and make me look more awake than I feel. Next I apply a small amount of the Maybelline Fit Me Powder in 120 down the t-zone to set my makeup.

Eyes

For the eyes I start by applying a wash of the Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Smog, a pretty shimmery warm medium brown all over the mobile lid and up to the crease. Any fluffy brush will work nicely but this colour is great at giving you definition and a hint of colour without being over the top. I then use a MAC eyeshadow in Yogurt which is a really pretty very pale pink without shimmer on the brow bone and down onto the edges of the Smog to blend out. It’s a great shade for blending and is one I find myself repeatedly going back to instead of a matte cream or white. Next I apply the Maybelline Colossal Mascara in Black to my upper and lower lash line, wiggling at the base to give me a soft focus finish.

Finish

To finish I simply apply the NYX Blusher in Taupe as a contour powder behind the cheekbones and a little under the jaw. I then apply a little of the MAC Blusher in Blushbaby to the apples and high points of my cheeks for a natural flush of pink.

Lips

On the lips I opt for one of my favourite products of all time and that’s the Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle. It’s a brilliant brownish pink and is a wonderfully hydrating lip stick with the feeling of a lip balm. They’re amazing and currently 2 for £10 in Boots at the moment!

Overall I just find this the easiest look which can be done easily in 8 minutes flat! It gives definition without looking over done and would suit any skin tone…

Leave a comment